HomeEconomyElection Commission Announces Simultaneous Polls in Arunachal Pradesh

Election Commission Announces Simultaneous Polls in Arunachal Pradesh

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has officially declared simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh. Scheduled for the first phase on April 19, the state will witness electoral activity across its 60 assembly constituencies and two Lok Sabha seats.

Following the issuance of notifications by the state election office, the nomination process has commenced, with the last date for filing nomination papers set for March 27. Scrutiny of papers will take place on March 28, and the deadline for withdrawal of nominations is March 30. Notably, the current term of the state assembly is set to end on June 2.

A total of 8,86,848 electorates, including 4,49,050 female voters, 5,740 service voters, and five third-gender voters, are expected to participate in the electoral process. With 2,226 polling booths established across the state, efforts have been made to ensure inclusivity and accessibility, with specific provisions for women, youth, and persons with disabilities.

Amidst preparations for the elections, certain polling stations have drawn attention due to unique features. For instance, the Pumao Primary School under Longding assembly constituency boasts the highest number of voters, while the Malogam temporary structure in Malogam village has just one female voter. Additionally, Luguthang under Mukto constituency stands as the highest polling station in the state, situated at an altitude of approximately 13,383 ft.

The electoral roll coverage in Arunachal Pradesh is reported to be comprehensive, with equal EPIC coverage. Essential arrangements have been completed, including the training of election officials, awareness programs on EVM and VVPAT usage, and the implementation of facilitative measures for service voters.

Security measures have also been bolstered, with the deployment of 75 companies of Central Para Military Forces (CPMF) across all districts. These measures aim to ensure free and fair elections, with particular attention to critical and vulnerable polling stations.

In the electoral landscape, the ruling BJP, which secured victory in both Lok Sabha seats in the 2019 elections, has announced its candidates for all assembly seats. Notable figures include Union Earth Sciences Minister Kiren Rijiju for the Arunachal West Lok Sabha seat and Tapir Gao for the Arunachal East seat.

As Arunachal Pradesh gears up for the upcoming polls, the stage is set for a significant democratic exercise that will shape the political trajectory of the state.

Read Now:Astronomers Discover Margarita Ingredients in Space: Implications for Habitable Worlds

[responsivevoice_button buttontext="Listen This Post" voice="Hindi Female"]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Trending News

EPFO Reforms Under Review: Automation, Efficiency, and Social Security Expansion

New Delhi, June 14, 2024 - Smt. Sumita Dawra, Secretary of the Ministry of Labour & Employment, Government of...

New Zealand Triumphs Over Uganda by 40 Runs in T20 World Cup, Makes History as Second-Lowest-Ranked Team to Win

New Zealand defeated Uganda by 40 runs in 18.4 overs in Tarouba on Saturday, hoping for their first victory...

PM Narendra Modi Returns from Productive G7 Summit in Italy Strengthens Diplomatic Ties with World Leaders

Prime Minister Narendra Modi completed his first foreign visit of his third term on Friday when he returned home...

Prashant Kishore Criticizes Nitish Kumar for ‘Touching the Feet’ of PM Modi, Calls it a ‘Shame’ for Bihar

Prashant Kishore said that Nitish Kumar has brought shame to Bihar by "touching the feet of the Prime Minister."...